Venture & Finance

The EPIC Venture and Finance Workgroup is dedicated to the promotion of venture and finance activities among the association’s members. EPIC’s mission has always been to maximise the business development opportunities of its members through networking, information and partnering. The new Venture and Finance Workgroup takes this a step further through a series of focused activities aimed at attracting investors to photonics, promoting trade investment among members, fostering SME development and cooperating with the public funding sector on the continuous improvement of financing conditions for photonics entrepreneurs.

Entrepreneurship in Photonics
Investing in Photonics
European Photonics Venture Forum 2016
European Photonics Venture Forum 2015
Useful resources
List of investments in photonics (permanently updated)

Read more
List of M&A in photonics (permanently updated)

Read more
Article “EPIC plays active role in bridging investment/industry in photonics” (June 2016)

Read more
Presentation Investment in Photonics (June 2016)

Read more
Message to investors (May 2016)

Read more
Presentation on Photonics Venture Capital Initiatives in Europe Financing Photonics Innovations (May 2015)

Read more

EPIC Venture and Finance Workgroup Members

  • Kurt Weingarten (Chairman)
    Managing Director, Lumentum (Switzerland)
  • Giorgio Anania
    CEO & President, ALEDIA (France) (Vice-Chairman)
  • Christian Velez
    CEO, EXALOS (Switzerland)
  • Christian Neumeyr
    CEO & Founder, Vertilas (Germany)
  • Drew Nelson
    CEO & Founder, IQE (United Kingdom)
  • Eric Mottay
    CEO & Founder, Amplitude Systèmes (France)
  • Graeme Malcolm
    CEO, M Squared Lasers (United Kingdom)
  • Andreas Umbach
    Vice President and General Manager, Finisar (Germany)
  • Hans van den Vlekkert
    CEO & Founder, LioniX BV (The Netherlands)
  • Hugues Tariel
    CEO & Founder, DIAFIR (France)
  • Jan Meise
    CEO & Founder, AMS Technologies (Germany)
  • Joerg Muchametow
    CEO & Founder, eagleyard Photonics (Germany)
  • Maria Titova
    CEO, Technospark Nanocenter (Russia)
  • Michael Lebby
    Chair of Optoelectronics, Glyndwr University Integrated Photonics (United Kingdom)
  • Miguel Melo
    Managing Director, MW Technologies (Portugal)
  • Nick Martin
    Managing Director, Advanced Fibre Optic Engineering (AFE) (United Kingdom)
  • Petteri Uusimaa
    CEO & Founder, Modulight (Finland)
  • Pim Kat
    CEO & Founder, Technobis (The Netherlands)
  • Ruth Houbertz
    CEO & Founder, Multiphoton Optics (Germany)
  • Thierry Gonthiez
    CEO & Founder, Resolution Spectra Systems (France)
  • Wolfgang Gries
    CEO & Founder, DirectPhotonics (Germany)
  • Young Kwon
    Managing Director, Powerlase (United Kingdom)